Posted in Birth, Divine feminine

Lotus flowers and birth power

So, I have this huge dream of mine that I plan to make a reality…it all began some years ago when I was expecting my first child. The midwife I had at the time owned a birth center and it was a beautiful home that she’d bought. She turned each of the rooms into “birthing” rooms where mothers could labor and deliver their baby. I remember the softness of the rooms, the bright sunshine that poured into them and the warm colors in the home. I fell in love with the idea and didn’t think more about doing it myself until now. I am currently a doula, and I am planning to become a midwife. I want my birth center to be in the heart of the city, and I want to be there for mothers and families during one of the most beautiful experiences of their lives; the birth of a child.

02

I like to call myself a “seasoned” doula. I have experienced many seasons in birth; winter, summer, spring and fall. I know what it is like to be in this beautiful space with a mother…I also know what it is like personally. Having had my own personal experiences with birth and loss, I don’t think there is a mother out there that I could not be there for. Doulas, midwives and birth-workers in general are needed now more than ever before and I am ready to pick up where I’ve left off. I can hear the calls, feel the energy and see the need. I cannot deny what I love, what my gift is and what brings me so much joy… Birth and all the energy surrounding it gives me life. I’ve never not teared up at seeing a new life come into this world…It is time to return to innocence! So it will be. I see a big space, with a nice porch, a yard with lots of trees and flowers for those moms who want to be outside during their laboring hours…I see paintings adorning the walls of moms and babies…I see myself; talking with and encouraging my clients just as my midwife did for me in the months preceding my birth. I feel so complete when I think about it all…I even envision my daughters being a part of this dream. I can’t wait to make it a reality…the only thing that awaits me, is me…

“sweet little spirit, we await your presence…ever patient are we for you to come, take your time precious one”

I think I will have this engraved above the door to the entrance of my birth center. 🙂

9f9043dce4bef725646ebb2feb0ae0de

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

A creative expressionist; a hopeless romantic; hence the poetic side of me and an intellectual woman who also happens to have a very good sense of humor. This blog represents me as I am now; a sensual, fun loving, intense woman who writes about topics that could go on forever. My life experiences with birth, thoughts on sexuality, astrological truths, motherhood, goddess energy, relationships, mystical moments, and so much more will be written in this beautiful space. Join me for this unforgettable journey of seeing the world through my writing.

2 thoughts on “Lotus flowers and birth power

  1. How powerful is this post?? The act of visioning combined with such a beautiful goal, something that you can share with families including your own babies… I’ve been thinking about doula-work, but end of life. Do you know of any doula institutes/programs that are also woc-friendly? I’ve been doing a google search for Michigan but it seems asking around firsthand might be better. I’ve thought about birth work but I have quite a few fears wrapped around that. When you went through training, were things like that addressed?

    1. Hi Love! Thank you so much for your uplifting words, I so appreciate it. I think it’s wonderful that you also have been thinking about becoming a doula as well :). I started my training with DONA but decided not to continue with them for several reasons. I have connected with a few other doulas in the city so far and I’m a part of a group on FB called Doulas of Color, so networking with them has proven to be helpful. I had been speaking with a friend of mine about woc-friendly programs and I will definitely let you know. I thought of being a doula for end of life situations as well, with mothers who’ve lost their baby…it is definitely a need for more of them. I hope we can talk more about this soon, I look forward to connecting with you. ❤

Leave a Reply

